Programme committee

The board of Play the Game and the Danish Institute for Sports Studies appoints a programme committee for each conference.

The committee has two main tasks:

  • to advise on themes and speakers for the conference
  • to evaluate the conference

The members of the 2024 programme committee are (in alphabetical order, first name):

  • Alex Phillips, freelance consultant, Switzerland

  • Andrea Florence, director, Sport & Rights Alliance, Brazil

  • Andreas Selliaas, journalist,, Norway

  • Andy Brown, journalist, Sports Integrity Initiative, UK

  • Brian Wesaala, founder and CEO, The Football Foundation for Africa, Kenya       
  • Cornel Maria Nesseler, researcher, University of Stavanger, Germany (Appointed by NTNU Business School)

  • Eze Alloysius, executive director, PLAYYA Nigeria, Nigeria

  • Grit Hartmann, freelance journalist, Germany

  • Hanne Marie Brevik, manager/journalist, NRK Sport investigative group, Norway

  • Harry Arne Solberg, professor, NTNU Business School, Norway (Appointed by NTNU Business School)

  • Håvard Melnæs, editor, Josimar, Norway
  • Jakob Færch, development consultant, LOA, Denmark

  • Jens Weinreich, journalist and publisher, SPORT & POLITICS,, Germany

  • Katarina Pijetlovic, assistant professor, Católica Global School of Law, Estonia

  • Laura Robinson, freelance, Canada

  • Mary Harvey, CEO, Centre for Sport and Human Rights, USA

  • Miguel Maduro, professor/dean, Católica Global School of Law / European University Institute, Portugal

  • Minky Worden, director of Global Initiatives, Human Rights Watch, USA

  • Mogens Kirkeby, president, ISCA, Denmark

  • Olav Torp, associate professor, NTNU, Norway (Appointed by NTNU Business School)
  • Paulina Tomczyk, general secretary, EU Athletes, Belgium

  • Rikke Rønholt Albertsen, board member, National Olympic Committee and Sports Confederation of Denmark, Denmark

  • Roger Pielke, professor, Colorado University Boulder, USA

  • Sabrina Furtado, researcher, Instituto Inteligência Esportiva, Brazil

  • Sigmund Loland, professor, Norwegian School of Sport Sciences, Norway

  • Spencer Harris, associate professor, Colorado University Colorado Springs, USA

  • Tine Vertommen, researcher Thomas More University, Belgium, and expert consultant, IOC Safe Sport Unit, Switzerland
Play the Game 2024
Play the Game 2024

Back to conference page