We have the pleasure of announcing the following names (in alphabetical order) as speakers at Play the Game 2009.

Aidan White, General Secretary, International Federation of Journalists, Belgium

Alessandro Donati, anti-doping expert, former head of research at CONI, Italy

Andreas Selliaas, International consultant, The Norwegian Olympic and Paralympic Committee and Confederation of Sports, Norway

Andrew Jennings, Journalist, United Kingdom

Anne-Marie Kappelgaard, Senior Medical Director, Novo Nordisk A/S

Bob Munro, Mathare Youth Project, Kenya/Canada

Brian Dooley, Project manager, Sport and Human Rigths Project, Amnesty International, UK

Brigid Simmonds, Chair of CCPR, UK

Christer Ahl, President, Playing Rules and Referees Commission (PRC), IHF, Switzerland/Sweden

Christopher A. Shaw, Author of Five Ring Circus: Myths and Realities of the Olympic Games and Professor of ophthalmology at the University of British Columbia, Canada

Dan Edwardes, Managing director, Parkour Generations, UK

Dave Boyle, Chief Executive of Supporters Direct, United Kingdom

David Goldblatt, Author, ”The Ball is Round”, United Kingdom

David Howman, Director General, WADA, Canada/New Zealand

Declan Hill, PhD, Investigative journalist, author “The Fix”, Canada

Emanuel Macedo de Medeiros, CEO of European Professional Football Leagues (EFPL), Switzerland

Fred Coalter, Professor, University of Stirling, United Kingdom

Gert-Peter Brüggemann, Professor, Deutsche Sporthochschule, Germany

Greg LeMond, Former Tour de France winner and Executive director, LeMond Fitness Inc, USA

Hai Ren, Professor, Director, Olympic Studies Center, University of Beijing, China

Henrik H. Brandt, Director, Danish Institute for Sports Studies, Denmark 

Jens Weinreich, Journalist, Sportnetzwerk, Germany 

John Beech, Lecturer, Centre for International Business of Sport, Coventry University, United Kingdom

John Mair, Senior lecturer, Coventry University, United Kingdom

Lars Haue-Pedersen, Managing Director, TSE Consulting, United Kingdom

Laura Robinson, Author and journalist, Canada

Mario Goijman, Former Argentine Volleybal Leader and Play the Game Award winner, Argentina

Mark Davies, Managing Director, Betfair, United Kingdom

Martin Mansell, Inclusion Consultant in Paralympic Sport and PE, United Kingdom 

Michael Franzese, Former mob-boss and motivational speaker, US

Mike McNamee, Professor, Centre for Philosophy, Humanities and Law in Healthcare, School of Health Science, Swansea University, United Kingdom

Mogens Kirkeby, President, International Sport and Culture Association (ISCA), Denmark

Nadine De Ridder, Coordinator, Sports After School, Belgium

Pedro Velàzquez, Deputy Head of the Sport Unit, European Commission, Belgium

Poul Hansen, Head of UN Office On Sport for Development and Peace (UNOSDP), Switzerland

Richard W. Pound, Member of the IOC and former president of WADA, Canada

Ricky Balshaw, Paralympic silver medallist, Equestrian Team GBR, United Kingdom

Robert Lloyd, Projects Manager - Global Accountability, One World Trust, UK

Stefan Szymanski, Professor of Economics, Cass Business School, United Kingdom

Ted Fay, Dr., Senior Research Fellow, Sport in Society, Director, Sport Management Program, SUNY-Cortland

Terri Byers, Principal lecturer and programme manager, Centre for International Business of Sport, Coventry University, United Kingdom 

Tine Rindum Teilmann, Board member, chairman of the IPC’s Women in Sport Committee and member of the IOC’s Women in Sport Commission, Denmark

Veerle De Bosscher, Researcher (post. doc.), Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Will Bennet, University and Education Partnerships Manager, Right to Play, United Kingdom

William Gaillard, Advisor to the UEFA President and UEFA Director of communications, Switzerland

Wladimir Andreff, Professor emeritus in sports economy, University of Paris-Sorbonne, France

Xiong Huan, Dr. and lecturer, Irish Institute of Chinese Studies, University College of Cork, Ireland/China

Yves Kummer, President, European Elite Athletes Association, The Netherlands

Also speaking at Play the Game 2009 

In addition to our list of invited speakers, we have also accepted abstracts from the following speakers to present papers at Play the Game 2009.

Adrian Pritchard, Lecturer, Coventry University, United Kingdom

Agim Islami, Olympic Committee of Kosovo, Kosovo

Ana Adi, Doctoral Researcher, University of the West of Scotland, United Kingdom

Anders Hasselgaard, Researcher, NUPI, Norway

Andreas Pohlmann, Head of Department, Federal Institute of Sport Science, Germany

Andrew Byers, Senior Lecturer, Nottingham Trent University, United Kingdom

Anna Semens, Dr., Research fellow, CIBS, Coventry University, United Kingdom

Ask Vest Christiansen, Ass. Professor, Dep. of Sport Science, Aarhus University, Denmark

Bernardo Pires Domingues, Freelance sports journalist, Brasil

Christophe Brissonneau, Sociologist, University Paris Descartes, France

Daniel Cade,  Project Manager, Schwery Consulting, Switzerland

Debbie Simms, Manager, Australian Sports Commission, Australia

Erin Durant, JD Candidate, 2011, Queen's University, Canada

Ezequiel Fernández Moores, Journalist, La Nación (Argentina) ANSA, Argentina

Florian Petrica, Editor in Chief, Sports Departament of The Money Channel, Romania

Gary Gaffney, Associate Professor, University of Iowa Hospitals, USA

Georg M. Facius, Anti-doping delegate, EAA, Denmark

Gerhard Treutlein, Prof. Dr., Pädagogische Hochschule Heidelberg, Germany

Harold Mayne-Nicholls, President, Chilean Football Federation, Chile

Herman Ram, CEO, Anti-Doping Authority of The Netherlands, The Netherlands

Jane Ashworth, Chief Executive, StreetGames Uk, United Kingdom

Joachim Parbo, MA Political Science / Prof. Cyclocross, Denmark

Joern Hansen, Associate Professor, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Katarina Pijetlovic, Lecturer in EU law, Tallinn Law School, TTÜ, Estonia

Khalid Ali, Secretary General of the European Sports Security Association (ESSA), Belgium

Klaas Faber, Director, Chemometry Consultancy, The Netherlands

Kristen Worley, Elite Track Cyclist,  Design engineer, Canada

Lise Joern, PhD-student, University of Aarhus, Denmark

Lorenz Ursprung, Head of Sport Promotion, Federal Office of Sport, Switzerland

Maja Pilgaard, Ph.d./Academic Researcher, Danish Institute for Sports Studies, Denmark

Matthew Nicholson, Associate Professor, University of Ballarat, Australia

Michael Sauer, Scientific Co-worker, Manfred Donike Institute, Germany

Muhammad Dhakaba, Editor, UgaSport, Uganda

Murali Krishnan, Editor, Indo-Asian News Service, India

Nicholas Burton, Researcher, Coventry University Business School, Canada

Nikki Dryden, Olympic swimmer, human rights lawyer, Canada/USA

Pablo Vignone, Journalist, Página/12 newspaper, Argentina

Richard Ings, CEO and Chairman, Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority, Australia

Richard Elliott, Director, Lawrie McMenemy Centre for Football Research (LMCFR), United Kingdom

Rowan Simons, Author, Beijing/England

Rui Novais, Prof., Communications Sciences University of Po, Portugal

Russell Holden, Director, In the Zone, Wales

Samantha Dawson, Lecturer in Applied Physiology, Coventry University, England

Samantha Gorse, CIBS, Coventry University, United KIngdom

Simon Gardiner, Reader in Sports Law, Leeds Metropolitan University, United Kingdom

Sverre Chr. Wilhelmsen, Project coordinator, NUPI, Norway

Sylvia Schenk, Lawyer, Schmalz Rechtsanwälte, Germany

Ted Vehse, Lecturer in Humanities & Relig. Studies, West Virginia University, USA

Verner Møller, Professor, University of Aarhus, Denmark

Werner Pitsch, Researcher, Saarland University, Germany

Play the Game 2009
Play the Game 2009