PtG Article 29.11.2017

The Stepanovs and Hajo Seppelt receive the Play the Game Award

On the last day of Play the Game 2017, the biennial Play the Game Award was shared between Yulia and Vitaly Stepanov as well as Hajo Seppelt for their uncovering of the unprecedented doping conspiracy among Russian and international sports leaders.

In December 2014, German television showed secret video and audio recordings, eyewitness testimonies and documents that uncovered a sensational conspiracy among Russian and international sports leaders engaged in corrupt alliances and the manipulation of doping testing.

The broadcast triggered a series of reports, investigations and further TV documentaries on what is now regarded as an unprecedented doping fraud that completely changed the public view on international sport and anti-doping.

On the last day of Play the Game 2017, held in Eindhoven in the Netherlands, the two whistleblowers Yulia and Vitaly Stepanov, as well as the investigative journalist Hajo Seppelt, received the Play the Game Award 2017 for their part in pulling aside “the curtains that were hiding the truth” and putting “international sport and anti-doping organisations worldwide to work”.

“You have shown us what can be achieved with personal courage, unwavering commitment and tireless efforts, and you fully deserve the Play the Game Award 2017 and a round of applause,” Play the Game’s International Director, Jens Sejer Andersen, said in his motivation speech.

The Stepanovs were not present in Eindhoven, but accepted the award connected via a video-link from the US.

In his speech, Jens Sejer Andersen praised the Stepanovs for being symbols of the highest ethical practices in sport despite huge personal costs after becoming whistleblowers:

“You gathered, over a long period of time, convincing documentation through secret audio and video recording, in spite of the obvious personal risks. And you decided to come forward and step out of anonymity with your eyewitness accounts in Western TV; knowing well that this might lead to accusations of being renegades and national traitors, and provoke negative reactions from the public, the authorities, colleagues, friends and family - as it has certainly also happened in an unprecedented scale.”

To Hajo Seppelt, Jens Sejer Andersen said:

“Your work was carried out while observing the highest standards of the journalistic profession. It is always a temptation for a journalist to spice the story up with a little more drama than the documentation can necessarily bear, but you always let the documentation speak almost for itself, with shortness and sharpness that matches the TV format very well.”

The recipients of the award were decided by the governing board of Play the Game and the Danish Institute for Sports Studies.

Learn more aobut the Play the Game Award

Meet other Play the Game Award winners

Award winners
PtG Article 30.06.2022
Belarusian Sports Solidarity Foundation and Khalida Popal receive the Play the Game Award 2022
Nancy Hogshead-Makar
PtG Article 16.10.2019
Nancy Hogshead-Makar receives the Play the Game Award 2019
Bob Munro and Jens Sejer Andersen
PtG Article 28.10.2015
Bob Munro and Mathare Youth Sports Association receive the Play the Game Award
Søren Riiskjær and Richard W. Pound
PtG Article 28.10.2013
Richard W. Pound receives the Play the Game Award 2013
Jens Weinreich and Andrew Jennings
PtG Article 06.10.2011
Jens Weinreich and Andrew Jennings win 2011 Play the Game Award
Declan Hill and Tine Teilmann
PtG Article 12.06.2009
Declan Hill wins Play the Game 2009 award
Laura Robinson and Sandro Donati
PtG Article 01.11.2007
Sandro Donati wins Play the Game Award 2007
Mario Goijman and Laura Robinson
PtG Article 10.11.2005
Mario Goijman receives Play the Game Award