PtG Article 06.10.2011

Jens Weinreich and Andrew Jennings win 2011 Play the Game Award

Two veteran investigative journalists, Jens Weinreich from Germany and Andrew Jennings from the United Kingdom, receive the 2011 Play the Game award in recognition of their tireless work documenting and bringing the enormous levels of mismanagement and corruption in the world's leading sports organisations into public view.

The Play the Game Award is awarded by the organisation Play the Game which aims to strengthen the basic ethical values of sport and encourage democracy, transparency and freedom of expression in world sport. It pays tribute to an individual or a group of persons who in their professional careers or as volunteers in sport have made an outstanding effort to strengthen the basic ethical values of sport.

Weinreich and Jennings were selected as the recipients of this year’s award by a committee consisting of board members and directors from the Danish Institute for Sports Studies and Play the Game and the previous award winner, Declan Hill. The winners were announced in Cologne, Germany, at Play the Game 2011, the seventh world communication conference on sport and society.

Announcing the awards, Henrik Brandt, Director of the Institute for Danish Sports Studies, said that it took only a few seconds for the committee to decide that Weinreich and Jennings were this year's obvious candidates for the Play the Award.

"It is not so much the recent work by the two award winners that moves us to give them the award this year. Rather, it is due to the excellent work of the FIFA Executive Board during recent months to highlight the fact that the world’s two most outstanding investigative journalists in the field of sports have been pointing the fingers in the right direction for more than a decade; that leads us to giving them the award."

"They have always been accused of exaggerating the problems in FIFA, but last year has shown that they were understating," Brandt continued.Over the years, Jennings and Weinreich have been despised, criticised and excluded from doing their job by sports leaders, politicians, and even by their own colleagues. Still, they have been determined in pursuing their investigations.

"They not only sought, but also found the documentation, and that is a great achievement which has been fundamental for the world public’s understanding of FIFA as it is today," Brandt said.

Brandt also paid tribute to Weinreich and Jennings' commitment to supporting Play the Game and young journalists wanting to break into the field of investigative sports journalism.

"They are a symbol of the idea of Play the Game, which is that by researching, documenting, exposing, discussing, publishing, co-operating and asking questions in a global network we can help each other and contribute to better sports policies and better sports lives for people all over the world," Brandt said.

Learn more about the Play the Game Award

Meet other Play the Game Award winners

Award winners
PtG Article 30.06.2022
Belarusian Sports Solidarity Foundation and Khalida Popal receive the Play the Game Award 2022
Nancy Hogshead-Makar
PtG Article 16.10.2019
Nancy Hogshead-Makar receives the Play the Game Award 2019
The Stepanovs and Hajo Seppelt
PtG Article 29.11.2017
The Stepanovs and Hajo Seppelt receive the Play the Game Award
Bob Munro and Jens Sejer Andersen
PtG Article 28.10.2015
Bob Munro and Mathare Youth Sports Association receive the Play the Game Award
Søren Riiskjær and Richard W. Pound
PtG Article 28.10.2013
Richard W. Pound receives the Play the Game Award 2013
Declan Hill and Tine Teilmann
PtG Article 12.06.2009
Declan Hill wins Play the Game 2009 award
Laura Robinson and Sandro Donati
PtG Article 01.11.2007
Sandro Donati wins Play the Game Award 2007
Mario Goijman and Laura Robinson
PtG Article 10.11.2005
Mario Goijman receives Play the Game Award