Programme committee

The board of Play the Game and the Danish Institute for Sports Studies appoints a programme committee for each conference.

The committee has two main tasks:

  • to advise on themes and speakers for the conference
  • to evaluate the conference

The members of the 2022 programme committee were (in alphabetical order, first name):

  • Alex Phillips, freelance and consultant, FIFA, Switzerland
  • Andreas Selliaas, journalist and academic researcher, freelance, Norway
  • Anne Dyrehauge, CEO, Media City Odense, Denmark
  • Annette Hofmann, professor and vice president, ICSSPE, Germany
  • Annette Stubkjær, policy advisor, Amnesty Denmark, Denmark
  • Evald Bundgaard, acting head, CISC at University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  • Grit Hartmann, freelance journalist, Germany
  • Harry Arne Solberg, professor, NTNU Business School, Norway
  • Jens Weinreich, journalist, blogger and publisher,, Germany
  • Mary Harvey, CEO, Centre for Sport and Human Rights, USA/Switzerland
  • Miguel Maduro, professor, European University Institute, Italy
  • Mike McNamee, professor, Swansea University and KU Leuven, UK
  • Mogens Kirkeby, president, ISCA, Denmark
  • Nancy Hogshead-Makar, founder and CEO, Champion Women, USA
  • Paulina Tomczyk, general secretary, EU Athletes - Brussels Office, Belgium
  • Ralf Andersson, acting head, Center for Journalism at University of Southern Denmark
  • Roger Pielke, professor, CU Boulder, USA
  • Spencer Harris, assistant professor of Sport Management, UCCS, USA
  • Steve Maxwell, editor, owner, The Outer Line/Velonews, USA
  • Thiago Santos, postdoctoral researcher, Universidade Federal do Paraná | UFPR, Brazil
  • Thomas Bach, vice president, The National Olympic Committee and Sports Confederation of Denmark, Denmark
Play the Game 2022
Play the Game 2022

Back to conference page