PtG Article 19.07.2010

Teammates of Marion Jones have their appeal upheld

The Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) has upheld the appeal filed by the American relay athletes Andrea Anderson, Latasha Colander Clark, Jearl Miles-Clark, Torri Edwards, Chryste Gaines, Monique Hennagan and Passion Richardson (the Athletes) against the decision of the Executive Board of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) of 10 April 2008.

Consequently, IOC Executive Board’s decision has been set aside, and on the basis of the IOC and IAAF Rules in force and applicable at the time of the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games, the CAS Panel has ruled that the United States’ teams that competed in the women’s 4x100m and 4x400m athletics relay events at the Sydney Games shall not be disqualified and the medals and diplomas awarded to the Athletes shall not be returned to the IOC.

In October 2007, following the so-called ‘BALCO’ case, Marion Jones signed an ‘Acceptance of Sanction’ form in front of the United States Anti-Doping Agency admitting that she had used a prohibited substance during the Sydney Olympic Games and accepted various sanctions including the return of all medals won by her at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games. Furthermore, the IOC Executive Board decided to disqualify Marion Jones from all track and field events in which she had competed at the Sydney Games, including the 4x100m and 4x400m relay races.

Source: Court of Arbitration for Sport